To order: 1-800-565-1975

Book Finder

Use our book finder to discover new and exciting titles!

Choose one or more search parameters in the book finder and click on the Find books button. A list of titles will appear in the main window.

You can then enter more search parameters to narrow your search for the perfect book!

Search by:
Working People

Working People

Life in a Downtown City Neighbourhood

By James Lorimer and Myfanwy Phillips

$14.95 Paperback
In Stock Ships in 24hrs or or less

Rating: 0 vote(s).


This book is a classic, intimate study of the people of Toronto's East of Parliament neighbourhood in the 1970's, a time when the working-class district came under undprecendented pressure from developers and middle-class gentrification.
An unconvential account, Working People combines a wide variety of materials--interviews, economic analysis, songs, jokes, newspaper advertisements, community newspapers, photographs--to present an unparalleled portrait of a changing urban community in depth.
Working People remains a fascinating record of a community in transition.

"A book in the tradition of Agee and Orwell."

- Robert Fulford

"A kind of unconventional masterpiece."

- Toronto Star

Customer Reviews:

Your review
Rating:



Publication Details:

Binding: Paperback, 274 pages
Publication Date: 1st January 1971
ISBN: 9780888620125
Format: 8in x 6in
illustrated with photographs

BIC Code: JFSG, RPC
BISAC Code:  POL002000, SOC026030
Imprint: Lorimer


back


Similar titles:
The Real World of City Politics

A Citizen's Guide to City Politics

After the Developers

A Citizen's Guide to City Politics

After the Developers


Bookmark and Share

Currencies

Our books are priced in Canadian dollars.