To order: 1-800-565-1975

Book Finder

Use our book finder to discover new and exciting titles for your kids and teens!

Choose one or more search parameters in the book finder and click on the Find books button. A list of titles will appear in the main window.

You can then enter more search parameters to narrow your search for the perfect book!

Search by:

Selected Currency

Working People

Working People

Life in a Downtown City Neighbourhood

By James Lorimer and Myfanwy Phillips

$14.95 Paperback
In Stock Ships in 24hrs or or less

Rating: 0 vote(s).


This book is a classic, intimate study of the people of Toronto's East of Parliament neighbourhood in the 1970's, a time when the working-class district came under undprecendented pressure from developers and middle-class gentrification.
An unconvential account, Working People combines a wide variety of materials--interviews, economic analysis, songs, jokes, newspaper advertisements, community newspapers, photographs--to present an unparalleled portrait of a changing urban community in depth.
Working People remains a fascinating record of a community in transition.

"A book in the tradition of Agee and Orwell."

- Robert Fulford

"A kind of unconventional masterpiece."

- Toronto Star

Customer Reviews:

Your review
Rating:



Publication Details:

Binding: Paperback, 274 pages
Publication Date: 1st January 1971
ISBN: 9780888620125
Format: 8in x 6in
illustrated with photographs

BIC Code: JFSG, RPC
BISAC Code:  POL002000, SOC026030
Imprint: Lorimer


back


Similar titles:
Grass Roots

A Citizen's Guide to City Politics

The Developers

The Real World of City Politics

The Real World of City Politics


Newsletter
Bookmark and Share

Currencies

Our books are priced in Canadian dollars.